With 10 central ministers, UP sees maximum representation in new cabinet

Amethi winner Smriti Irani is also part of Modi 2.0.


The second government led by Narendra Modi has the maximum representation of 10 politically crucial Uttar Pradesh faces, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi who represents Varanasi Lok Sabha constituency, followed by seven from Maharashtra and six from Bihar.

The Modi 2.0 government also has three ministers each from Gujarat, Rajasthan, Haryana and Karnataka, followed by two each from West Bengal, Odisha and Madhya Pradesh.

Voters had wiped out BJP in Gujarat, Rajasthan and Haryana.

The states of West Bengal and Odisha gave massive gains to the Bharatiya Janata party by winning 303 seats out of the 543 members of Lok Sabha in the national elections.

West Bengal, where assembly elections are scheduled for 2021, gave the saffron party 18 deputies. However, he is only represented by two ministers, Babul Supriyo and Debasree Chaudhuri.

Odisha, where the BJP won eight seats, is represented by Dharmendra Pradhan and Pratap Chandra Sarangi. Pradhan was elected to the upper house of Bihar.

The new Council of Ministers includes representatives from almost all states except Andhra Pradesh and the northeastern states of Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tripura.

Besides Prime Minister Modi, the ministers representing Uttar Pradesh are Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Mahendra Nath Pandey, Sanjeev Balyan, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti, VK Singh, Santosh Gangwar, Hardeep Singh Puri and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi. The BJP won 62 seats in the state while its ally won two.

Maharashtra ministers include Nitin Gadkari, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goyal, Arvind Sawant, Danve Patil, Ramdas Athawale and Shamrao Dhotre while those from Bihar Bihar include Ram Vilas Paswan, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Giriraj Singh, RK Singh, Asharwand Nity Choand, while those.

Uttar Pradesh sends a maximum of 80 MPs to Lok Sabha, Maharashtra and Bihar send 48 and 40 MPs respectively.
Prime Minister Modi represented members of Maharashtra, Haryana and Jharkhand, as the states will go to the polls later this year.

Jharkhand is represented by Arjun Munda while Naqvi, who is a member of the state’s Rajya Sabha, is from Uttar Pradesh.
Although the BJP won all seven parliamentary seats in Delhi, only Harsh Vardhan – the winning MP for Chandni Chowk – was able to find his place in the Modi 2.0 cabinet.

Nirmala Sitharaman, a member of the Rajya Sabha of Karnataka originally from Tamil Nadu and with V Muraleedharan, who represents Kerala in the cabinet but was elected to the upper house of Maharashtra, was also inducted into the cabinet.

Comments are closed.