Uttar Pradesh secures 10 central ministers, Eastern UP takes lion’s share | India News

LUCKNOW: The NDA’s second term on Thursday saw eastern Uttar Pradesh claim the lion’s share of cabinet posts with Prime Minister Narendra Modi himself leading the pack. Modi won Varanasi while Rajnath Singh, a high-ranking minister who joined the PM’s team as the number two in the Union cabinet, represents Lucknow at Lok Sabha.
UP BJP leader Mahendra Nath Pandey, who was re-elected from Chandauli, also in eastern UP, also joined Modi’s team at the Center. Amethi winner Smriti Irani is also part of Modi 2.0.
Thursday’s government formation saw the UP, which elects the maximum number of 80 deputies, win 10 government representatives.
While five of them are Cabinet Ministers – Modi, Rajnath Singh, Smriti Irani, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi and Mahendra Nath Pandey, two are from the Ministry of Defense (independent office) – Santosh Gangwar and Hardeep Singh Puri, a member of Rajya Sabha of the State.
The others are the Ministry of Defense – General (ret’d) VK Singh, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti and Sanjeev Balyan.
However, those who were unable to do so this time are: ManeKa Gandhi, who is likely to become President Pro-tem, Mahesh Sharma, Shiv Pratap Shukla and Satyapal Singh.
Anupriya Patel, whose Apna Dal (Sonelal) won two seats to bring the NDA’s total to 64 in the state, is notable for her absence from the cabinet list this time, despite being in the previous government.
Some other faces of the last government that failed to do so are Manoj Sinha who lost to Ghazipur, Uma Bharti and Kalraj Mishra who did not contest. Krishna Raj did not receive a ticket.
An analysis of the newly appointed ministers shows that no particular caste or community has been privileged.
While Modi is a backward, Rajnath Singh is a Thakur and Mahendra Nath Pandey is a Brahman. Naqvi is the only Muslim face in the Cabinet.

Comments are closed.